An Anonymous Girl by by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

One Word: Shook!

Pub. Date: Jan. 8, 2019

Synopsis: (From Goodreads)

Seeking women ages 18–32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed.

When Jessica Farris signs up for a psychology study conducted by the mysterious Dr. Shields, she thinks all she’ll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money, and leave. But as the questions grow more and more intense and invasive and the sessions become outings where Jess is told what to wear and how to act, she begins to feel as though Dr. Shields may know what she’s thinking…and what she’s hiding. As Jess’s paranoia grows, it becomes clear that she can no longer trust what in her life is real, and what is one of Dr. Shields’ manipulative experiments. Caught in a web of deceit and jealousy, Jess quickly learns that some obsessions can be deadly.

From the authors of the blockbuster bestseller The Wife Between Us comes an electrifying new novel about doubt, passion, and just how much you can trust someone.


Review:

39863515

This book was sent to me by St. Martin Press in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much St. Matins for an early review copy.

When I first read the synopsis of this novel I wanted to get my hands on this book ASAP. This book took me on the biggest and most thrilling ride ever! These were the best 384 pages I have ever read, literally. Matter of fact, one of the best thrillers that I have had the pleasure of reading and one of the best books I have read this year. This book really lived up to the hype that it was getting and I’m pretty sure that this book is about to be a really big hit in the future. All I have to say is that readers better buckle up to read this new and exciting new novel that comes out in January because it’s going to take them on a good and bumpy ride.

One of the best qualities about this book was the writing, the writers of this novel made you actually feel like you were right there witnessing all this drama unfold right before your eyes. The characters were so wonderfully written that you felt sympathy for them and felt like you actually knew them in some weird way. When I finished this novel, I was surprisingly distraught because I didn’t want this novel to end. In other words, I wanted more because the book was so good. Literally, this novel had the most memorable characters out there in the thrilling genre. You could actually feel the regret and guilt that Jess was feeling, the anger and the jealousy that Dr. Shields was dealing with, and the fear that Thomas was feeling as well. With these wonderful characters, this book will take readers all over on an emotional ride. If I didn’t have to work and go to school I think I would have read this book in one day.

Another thing that I loved about this book was the suspense that it contained. Because the writing was so good, the suspense was remarkable and popping. I have never read a thriller or a novel with so much suspense that had me at the edge of my seat. Even though this novel builds up there is still this suspense that goes on that keeps you reading the novel. Also, the twists in this novel were shocking and unpredictable, I tried to guess sometimes but I always was proven wrong. Most importantly, readers will walk away from this novel feeling satisfied that it ended the way it did because it was the perfect ending to the perfect story. I really can’t praise this book even more, everyone will fairly enjoy this novel and I will recommend this novel one thousand percent. In fact, I have a confession, I thought that no other thriller this year would have topped Stephen King’s, The Outsider, but this one def. past it and that is a lot to say. Please, when this novel comes out in January go run to Barnes and Nobles or your nearest book store because this book will shock, fascinated, and entertain you. Now I’m just waiting for my copy of The Wife Between Us to get here because I want to continue reading books made by these two excellent writers.

Rating: All the stars go to this book. Loved, loved, loved this book 🙂


 

~ If you want more content about reviews and about myself, go check  my bookstagram.

Leave a comment