The Power: Naomi Alderman

Synopsis: (This is from Goodreads).

In The Power the world is a recognisable place: there’s a rich Nigerian kid who lounges around the family pool; a foster girl whose religious parents hide their true nature; a local American politician; a tough London girl from a tricky family. But something vital has changed, causing their lives to converge with devastating effect. Teenage girls now have immense physical power – they can cause agonising pain and even death. And, with this small twist of nature, the world changes utterly.

This extraordinary novel by Naomi Alderman, a Sunday TimesYoung Writer of the Year and Granta Best of British writer, is not only a gripping story of how the world would change if power was in the hands of women but also exposes, with breath-taking daring, our contemporary world.


Review:

29751398

This novel was one that I personally was looking forward to reading this year and the past year. I was a little skeptical of reading it because it really is a powerful novel that has strong themes in it. However, I really took my time reading this novel because I wanted to feel the emotions that the author wanted to portrait in it. All in all, the novel was a great piece of art and I think the author really wrote this novel in a wonderful way so readers won’t get confused with all of the fantasy that it included. To be honest, I enjoyed the novel and the story, the author described the characters in a brilliant way that made you feel a connection to them when you start reading about them from the start.

My homegirl was clearly the Monke girl, she gave me life from the beginning with her badass of a personality, she made me want to be her best friend and I felt jealous that she made friends with Allie and not me. Truthfully, I hated Allie, I don’t know why but she just gave me a bad impression with her religious self. Although, I do have to say that the religious stuff in the novel was a little bit overwhelming and it just took all of the fun out of it. Moreover, the novel was executed in a wonderful way that entertained me, and that was what I was looking for.

This novel is an example of what can happen when a gender of the world gains too much power and let’s not forget that everyone should be equal in the world no matter what is going on. No one is perfect, no one has more strength than another person, everyone can do what another person can do. Finally, this is what I got from this novel which is the truthful T.


This novel was a total package and it spoke to me in different levels and I’m definitely reading this one again this year.

4/5 Review.

Leave a comment